- CCS here means Certified Coffee Specialist from NAMA, built for the office coffee and convenience-services industry.
- The exam fee is $150 for NAMA members and $250 for non-members.
- You need at least one year of industry experience and attendance at two of four Essence of Coffee modules.
- The four modules are Coffee Concepts, It's in the Cup, Coffee Commerce, and Top to Bottom OCS Operations.
Which CCS This Sheet Covers
The acronym CCS is shared by several unrelated credentials, which is a common source of bad information online. This cheat sheet covers one credential only: the Certified Coffee Specialist offered through the National Automatic Merchandising Association (NAMA), aimed at professionals working in office coffee service (OCS) and the wider convenience-services space.
If you are comparing sources, check the certifying body before trusting any number. Fees, exam length, scoring and renewal terms published for a different CCS do not apply here. If you need a primer first, the articles on what CCS certification is and what CCS stands for walk through the naming confusion.
The Verified Facts at a Glance
Here is the one-page view. Keep it beside your notes and treat the "not verified" rows as open questions to resolve directly with NAMA before you commit to a date.
| Item | What the public sources support |
|---|---|
| Credential | Certified Coffee Specialist (CCS) |
| Issuer | National Automatic Merchandising Association (NAMA) |
| Industry focus | Office coffee service and convenience services |
| Exam fee | $150 for members, $250 for non-members |
| Experience requirement | At least one year in the industry |
| Training requirement | Attendance at at least two of four Essence of Coffee modules |
| Question count and format | Not publicly verified |
| Time limit | Not publicly verified |
| Passing score | Not publicly verified |
| Pass rate | Not publicly disclosed in reviewed NAMA sources |
| Validity and renewal | Not publicly verified; do not assume lifetime status |
| Retake, training and renewal prices | Not verified |
Unverified does not mean zero or none. It means the information was not found in the reviewed public documents. For deeper breakdowns of individual rows, see the guides on CCS certification cost, CCS passing score and CCS pass rate.
Eligibility, Fees and Registration Mechanics
Who qualifies
Two published prerequisites define eligibility. First, you need at least one year of industry experience. Second, you must have attended at least two of the four Essence of Coffee modules. No additional degree requirement, reference-count requirement or numerical training-hour requirement was verified in the public materials. The full walkthrough lives in the CCS requirements guide.
What it costs
The published exam fee is $150 for NAMA members and $250 for non-members. That $100 gap is worth weighing against the cost of membership if you are not already enrolled. Prices for the Essence of Coffee training, any retake and any renewal were not verified, so budget for those as unknowns and confirm them with NAMA before paying anything.
How the application works
NAMA administers the published application. The application also uses "C-Commerce" wording, which lines up with the Coffee Commerce module, so do not be thrown if you see both labels. Which external testing vendor, if any, delivers the exam was not verified, and scheduling, proctoring and testing-window details are likewise unconfirmed. The CCS exam dates article explains how to approach scheduling when the public information is thin.
The Four Modules: What to Memorize
The public curriculum outline lists four Essence of Coffee modules. These are the issuer's training topics, not a verified weighted exam blueprint, so there is no confirmed domain weighting and no confirmed "largest domain." Study all four evenly unless NAMA tells you otherwise. For a fuller treatment, read the CCS exam domains guide.
Module 1: Coffee Concepts
The foundation module. Expect to need a working command of what coffee is and how it gets from plant to product, in language an OCS professional would use with a customer.
- Core coffee terminology you can define without hesitation
- The basic journey from origin to cup and where quality is won or lost
- Distinguishing the vocabulary customers use from the vocabulary professionals use
Module 2: It's in the Cup
The sensory and quality module. This is where tasting, evaluation and the factors that shape cup quality come together.
- How preparation variables affect what ends up in the cup
- Evaluating and describing coffee quality consistently
- Recognizing common quality problems and their likely causes
Module 3: Coffee Commerce
The business module, also reflected in the application's "C-Commerce" wording. It frames coffee as a product that is sourced, priced, sold and serviced.
- How coffee is bought, sold and positioned in the marketplace
- Commercial considerations that affect an office coffee program
- Connecting product choices to customer needs and business outcomes
Module 4: Top to Bottom OCS Operations
The operations module, specific to office coffee service. It treats the whole service as a system rather than a single beverage.
- How an OCS program runs end to end, from product to equipment to service
- The operational details that keep customers satisfied
- Where operations, product quality and commerce intersect
The detail beneath each heading above is a study framing based on the module titles, not an official list of tested items. Use the published NAMA course outline as your authority on what each module actually covers, and use the CCS study guide to turn those topics into a plan.
What Is Not Publicly Verified
A reliable cheat sheet is honest about its gaps. These are the items the reviewed public NAMA sources did not settle:
- Question count and scored/unscored split: unknown.
- Time limit: unknown.
- Item format: unknown, so do not assume multiple choice only or a mix of types.
- Passing score: unknown.
- Pass rate: not disclosed.
- Open-book, calculator and adaptive-testing conditions: unverified.
- Remote proctoring and scheduling rules: unverified.
- Validity period and continuing-education rules: unverified.
The curriculum PDF found in public sources carries a 2019 filename. That tells you the file was posted under that year, not that the exam content is pinned to that version, so confirm the current version with NAMA. If you see any site quoting precise numbers for these fields, ask where they came from. The difficulty guide discusses how to judge the exam when hard data is missing.
Key Takeaway
Treat missing information as a to-do list, not a blank to fill with assumptions. Never prepare for a specific question count, time limit or passing percentage that you pulled from another credential's materials.
Why the Office Coffee Context Matters
The Certified Coffee Specialist is not a barista credential or a roaster credential. It sits inside the office coffee service and convenience-services world, where coffee is delivered to workplaces through equipment, supplies and ongoing service relationships. That context shapes how you should think about every module.
Who tends to benefit
The credential is aimed at people already working in OCS and related convenience-services businesses: operators, route and service staff, sales and account roles, and managers who oversee coffee programs. The one-year experience requirement reinforces that it is meant for working practitioners rather than newcomers. For a look at the roles that value it, see the CCS jobs overview, and for the economics see the salary guide and the ROI analysis. No specific salary uplift is verified here, so treat any figure you see elsewhere with caution.
Thinking like the exam
Because the four modules move from coffee knowledge to sensory quality to commerce to operations, a useful habit is to tie every concept to a workplace scenario. When you learn something in Coffee Concepts, ask how it would affect a customer's cup in an office. When you study Coffee Commerce, ask how it plays out in running an OCS account. That cross-linking is a study technique, not a claim about exam wording, but it mirrors how the curriculum is organized.
Scheduling the Modules Across Your Prep
This is the one place for generic planning, tied to the four modules. Because no weighting is verified, the plan gives each module roughly equal time and uses the final week to connect them. Adjust the pace to your own schedule and prior experience.
Coffee Concepts
- Build a glossary of core terms and quiz yourself on definitions
- Trace the path from origin to cup in your own words
It's in the Cup
- Practice describing quality and identifying likely causes of problems
- If you can, taste and compare coffees to anchor the vocabulary
Coffee Commerce
- Review how coffee is sourced, priced and sold in the OCS setting
- Link product choices to customer and business needs
Top to Bottom OCS Operations
- Map an OCS program from end to end and note each operational dependency
- Run mixed practice questions that cut across all four modules
Weeks 1 and 2 come first because quality knowledge underpins the commerce and operations material. Week 4 closes with mixed practice, which is where you will notice weak spots. You can test yourself with questions on the main practice test site, and note that practice-question allocations there are editorial, not an official blueprint.
Final-Week Checklist
- Confirm eligibility: one year of industry experience and attendance at two of four Essence of Coffee modules.
- Confirm membership status: $150 for members versus $250 for non-members.
- Contact NAMA about the current format, passing standard, open-book rules, scheduling and renewal.
- Review all four modules using the published course outline as your reference.
- Run a mixed practice set on the practice test site to check readiness across Coffee Concepts, It's in the Cup, Coffee Commerce and Top to Bottom OCS Operations.
- Skim your glossary the day before rather than learning new material.
If you want a fuller reference on the credential itself, the pages on CCS certification and CCS training cover the broader picture, and the CCS Exam Prep practice questions help you pressure-test what you have memorized.
Frequently Asked Questions
It stands for Certified Coffee Specialist, the NAMA credential for the office coffee and convenience-services industry. It is unrelated to other credentials that share the same acronym.
The published exam fee is $150 for NAMA members and $250 for non-members. Training, retake and renewal prices were not verified, so confirm those with NAMA directly.
At least one year of industry experience and attendance at at least two of the four Essence of Coffee modules. No degree, reference-count or numerical training-hour requirement was verified.
The four published modules are Coffee Concepts, It's in the Cup, Coffee Commerce and Top to Bottom OCS Operations. They are training topics, not verified weighted exam domains, so no weights or largest domain are confirmed.
Neither is publicly verified. The passing score, question count, time limit, item format and open-book or calculator rules should all be confirmed with NAMA before you test.